tumblr.

The microblogging site tumblr allows you to post text, photo, quote, link, chat, audio, and video..

Tumblr was founded back in 2007 in New York City by David Karp. I’ve been on tumblr for about a year now. At first I mainly lurked and didn’t post much. When I joined talklaunch I started posting my weekly column as a mirror. I slowly started to post more content and now I’ve totally hooked on tumblr. I joined tumblr because I read an article on Mashable able how great the content was and they were right. tumblr is my laugh factory each day and night. My daily dashboard view is absolutely hilarious because there are some very talented people on tumblr with animated gifs.

Tumblr is also a great way to express your creativity and a great alternative to Twitter. In your dashboard view you can search tags that are applied to posts on tumblr.

I searched a particular tag and I was given the option to track the tag.

If you click on track you’ll now be alerted each time the particular tag  is used on a post.

Then all you have to do is click on the particular tag to view the post(s) where that tag is applied to them.

Tumblr allows you to customize your page anyway you could possibly think of. Like Blogger, tumblr allows you to buy your own private domain and attached it to your tumblr page.

I love how for anything that you post you are able to select from when or how the content you’re sharing will be published such as publish now, add to queue, publish on…, save as draft, and private. Tumblr allows you to modify the post date to whatever date or time you want to enter. If you happen to be “borrowing” content from another source and you want to give thanks and give the original source their proper credit then you can enter the URL to the website in the content source field on your dashboard. For the budding SEO in you, feel free to add tags that way they’re completely searchable. Lastly tumblr allows you to even set a custom post URL and let people photo reply.

If you head over to http://www.tumblr.com/themes/ you can select from an assortment of fully customizable themes that are available for tumblr. Some of the themes are free to use and some require payment for you to be able to access.

Tumblr allows you to edit the html and adjust your blog’s appearance. As you see, I prefer to keep my tumblr in a minimalist theme that’s easy on the eyes.

Tumblr also allows the user to edit their posts in a rich text editor, plain text/html editor, or a markdown editor. I like that I can link my tumblr to other apps I enjoy such as GetGlue and SoundCloud. I’m a brand new iPhone 4S owner so I just linked it up to Instagr.am and the mobile app for iPhone. I look forward to putting both of them to use in the future. Recently President Barack Obama’s 2012 re-election campaign took up residence on tumblr. This just signifies how bright the future for tumblr is at this point. I just hope that the folks who run tumblr don’t mess up the format and formula that made tumblr the best blog site on the web.

Leave a Reply

